LOTROCommunity
Sign in to follow this  
Leafblade

An Everquest Novella

(This is my first attempt at an EQN Novella much like we've seen from Lassen and Drake. There's a lot I'd still like to write on it, but as with all stories, they are never finished, just abandoned. There's a lot I don't know yet about the actual EQN reimagining, so much of what I write here is guessing and speculation and may turn out to be inconsistent with the game we play someday. Typed, it came out to about 23 pages. It is based around an idea I had concerning the 'exodus' and journey to Antonica for a certain group of people. It would be set at the time that the game is to start for many of us looking forward Everquest Next.)

Last Ship Out of Kunark

The Morning After

He stood on the shore as the waves rolled in. They were coming in higher with each surge of the tide, rolling up the beach toward him, splashing at his bare feet. He tried to step back but his feet would not move. When he looked down to see why, he found his feet sinking into the sand. He wrapped his hands around one ankle and tried to pull it out but it was stuck fast. His heart started to race, his breaths coming fast as he bent over and dug his fingers into the sand to dig his feet clear. Furiously he dug, but no matter how much sand he scooped out, more sand and water rolled in to fill the hole. His feet were sinking deeper into the beach.

An ominous rumbling sound made him look up. A wall of water, impossibly high, towered over the shoreline and rushed toward him. He tried to back up but his feet were stuck. He fell backward onto the sand. The sky above was dark and angry. A figure in the clouds, made of clouds itself, an angry man with lightning bright eyes set amidst a dark, cloudy head reached toward him. And then the wall of water, topped with white foaming fingers curled over him threateningly and began to fall.